PDA

View Full Version : What are you reading right now!

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

heat
24 Apr 2003, 10:48
Just wondering what we are all reading? And please don't say 'this message' :twisted:

I admit to being a bit of a bookworm, and have over 5,000 books at home - hubbs thinks i'm demented...he could be right :roll: :roll:

At the moment, i'm into Alex Kava, Tami Hoag, Stephen King, Cathy Reichs, Michael Connelly, Patricia Cornwell,Harlen Coben,James Herbert and John Connolly.

My fave book of all time hasta be between

Pet Sematary - Stephen King

Deja Dead - Kathy Reichs

IT - Stephen King

The Horse Whisperer - Nicholas Evans

ANd there are so many more.....

Heat
xxx

sherrie87
24 Apr 2003, 15:52
Hi Heat,

OK, I'm a librarian and a book reviewer for a magazine, so this is a topic I can sink my teeth into!

Right now I'm re-reading all the books in Stephen King's Dark Tower series in preperation for the release of the latest book in November. I finished "The Gunslinger" and I'm getting ready to start "The Drawing of the Three", which is my favorite book in the series.

The best book I've reviewed lately is "After" by Francine Prose. It's about "school safety" measures gone horribly wrong following a school shooting- all rights are taken away and the school becomes a dictatorship. It's an interesting exploration of weighing safety vs. personal freedom. It will be released in June, I think.

My favorite books ever are:
Fiction: "A Prayer for Owen Meany" by John Irving
"Love in the Time of Cholera" by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
"Bag of Bones" by Stephen King
Nonfiction : "Mankind: Have A Nice Day- A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks" by Mick Foley (an American wrestler)
and of course....
"To Hell and Back" by Meat Loaf
(Actually the Mankind book is very similar in tone to the Meat Loaf book, though it's about wrestling rather than rock and roll.) Both have a concussion count and very engaging narrators.

Sherrie

Louise
24 Apr 2003, 16:09